Shopaholic Ties the Knot

Book: Shopaholic Ties the Knot, by Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Chick-Lit

Where I got it: The Open Door secondhand bookshop

Briefly, it’s: the third book in the Shopaholic series.

What I liked: Funny, escapist, entertaining.  The plot is way-out – yet it never loses its own inner logic.

But: there’s always the danger in reading a later book in a series that it won’t quite live up to the first one.  That was the case for me: I read the first book in Italian (its Italian title is I Love Shopping – !) and it was laugh-out-loud funny, not to mention the kick I got from being able to read it in Italian.  And I felt that underneath the fun, the author was treating a very serious subject, credit-card debt.  I read this one in English, it wasn’t quite so funny, and it seemed more like Kinsella was cashing in on a successful idea than dealing with the underlying matter.  But hey, it was a good read, and I’ll probably read another from the series at some point in the future when I want something light and entertaining.

Anything else: Luke leaves me cold.

Leave a Reply

