2014 Africa Reading Challenge

africa_map-2

It’s totally reckless of me to join another challenge – but here goes.  I can’t get this one out of my mind.

The Africa Reading Challenge is hosted by Kinna at KinnaReads; signup post is here.

The goal is to read five (or more) books “which are written by African writers, or take place in Africa, or are concerned with Africans and with historical and contemporary African issues”.  At least three books must be written by African writers.

I’ve just started reading The Granta Book of the African Short Story, so that will be one of my books.

Unread on my shelf at the moment are Acts of Faith, by Philip Caputo (set in Sudan, by an American author) and The Water House, by Antonio Olinto (set in Nigeria, by a Brazilian author).  I aim to include either or both of these.

For the others, I’m thinking of A Question of Power, by Bessie Head (South Africa); Sardines, by Nurudin Farah (Somalia); Ancestor Stones, by Aminatta Forna (Sierra Leone); and On Black Sisters Street, by Chika Unigwe (Nigeria).  But it may be others!

2 thoughts on “2014 Africa Reading Challenge

  1. I’m a fan of Farah’s novels. I’m also seeing On Black Sisters Street on a lot of participant’s list. I read and thoroughly enjoyed Aminatta Forna’s The Memory of Love. She’s a wonderful writer. Looking forward to your reviews and thanks for participating in the challenge.

Leave a Reply

