#40. Leadership is Hell: How to Manage Well – And Escape with your Soul (Rob Ashgar)

Book: Leadership is Hell: How to Manage Well – And Escape with your Soul, by Rob Ashgar

Genre and Year of Publication: Self-help, 2014

Where I got it: Free Kindle download (read in August; reviewed in October)

Length: 168 pages

Briefly, it’s a book that aims to explode the contemporary myth that being successful means being a leader, replacing it with the saner doctrine that “most talented people would be happier as freelancers, independent contractors or followers, liberated from the burdens of overseeing others” (a quote from the author, from a Forbes piece, here).

Comments: This book was very well worth MY while reading.  Here’s part of the blurb, which says it better than I can:

[The book] explores how to identify and overcome the blind spots that may be hurting your career; whether you have the right mindset for the kind of success that you’re seeking; how to develop just the right amount of “healthy ego” to make an impact; and how to make an impact on the world in a way that’s true to who you are (be forewarned, this might involve a completely different path than your current one).

This book will take you on a journey, showing you famous figures from history and the present—some who got it right, and some who didn’t. You’ll look at seven roads to hell within the world of leadership, and seven roads out of hell, to guide you safely to a meaningful legacy.

As a result of reading and reflecting on the wisdom of this book, I think I’ve let go – to a considerable degree, probably not completely – of my dream of being “a leader” within my professional career path, and I’ll concentrate instead on being successful according to the pattern that suits my particular personality and gifts.  It has been one of the elements contributing to my decision to seek a “sideways move” at work which will make me less likely to become a leader (of other people), and more likely to make me happy.  Hurrah for that.

It’s a book I need to read again, if only because it goes against the climate of the profession in which I operate, and where I do not get much support for my choices.  So the more I can interiorize of this, the better.  I’m so glad I chose to read it.

Challenges: Full House Challenge for the “Free Choice” category; ebook reading challenge; non-fiction challenge.

One thought on “#40. Leadership is Hell: How to Manage Well – And Escape with your Soul (Rob Ashgar)

  1. Hopping over from the Nonfiction Challenge….

    That’s an excellent message. We seem to have a warped meaning of success in our society that has very little to do with productiveness, or creativity, or happiness.

Leave a Reply

